Sound?

For discussion of the issues faced when building a model or layout - how to replicate wood, what glues to use, exactly how much weathering can a Gnat take, a good source of detailing accessories - you get the picture, I'm sure.

Moderator: GnATTERbox Moderators

SOUTHPASS
Seasoned Campaigner
Seasoned Campaigner
Posts: 422
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:02 am
Location: Bribie Island
Interests: Trains and cars.

Postby SOUTHPASS » Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:38 am

I don't know about layout sounds, but a couple of years ago I spent the three days of the Brisbane show across the walk from a computer game stand. They had their sound running through speakers about as big as my layout :x For weeks after I coudn't get the sound of diesels rumbling and air horns out of my head.
.....WARNING....
Contains images that anoraks may find disturbing.
1:24 scale 16.5mm gauge.
Yes I know it's all old and rusty, but I just model things as I see them......
Have a good one....John B.

User avatar
Prof Klyzlr
GnatterBox Centurion
GnatterBox Centurion
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:10 am
Location: ...Somewhere deep in the Aussie Bush
Interests: Aussie NG Logging Tramway fan

Auran's Display Sound Rig : not quite "scale"

Postby Prof Klyzlr » Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:04 am

Dear Southpass,

Yep, have been the organiser of a show where the Auran guys have been "playing to the kids" by turning up the synthesised sounds of their sim game. Definitely draws the kids, but dang if it doesn't drive the "Modellers" crazy...

(I could sit trackside while a 12"/1' scale EMD switcher works quite happily, ground moving beneath me, and have done so on occasion,
but translate that into square-wave clipped PC speaker systems,
at maximum gain,
making up for severely compressed audio files being played thru under-spec'd soundcards,
and it somehow ain't quite right... :roll: )

Just another example of their being room on this here "Model Railroading" train for everyone,
(but if you are a regular exhibitor,
it pays to have a dose of respect for your fellow Modellers...)
Happy Modelling,
Aim to Improve,
Prof Klyzlr

SOUTHPASS
Seasoned Campaigner
Seasoned Campaigner
Posts: 422
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:02 am
Location: Bribie Island
Interests: Trains and cars.

Postby SOUTHPASS » Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:54 am

Yes, noise itself dosn't bother me. I spent over 40 years sitting on earth moving machines and it was only in the last 20 years that they have even had mufflers :) . As you say it's that distorted and stretched out sound that is irratating.
.....WARNING....

Contains images that anoraks may find disturbing.

1:24 scale 16.5mm gauge.

Yes I know it's all old and rusty, but I just model things as I see them......

Have a good one....John B.

User avatar
rue_d_etropal
Millegniumer
Millegniumer
Posts: 2165
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 4:55 pm
Location: Accrington and sometimes France
Interests: France, any narrow/minmum gauge 40cm,50cm , 60cm

Postby rue_d_etropal » Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:25 pm

just received a/24th scale radio control tiger 1 tank, I intend to use on new layout(not Gn15). It has SOUND, but have not tested it yet. I opted for version which does not fire rubber shells, pity I could have really annoyed other exhibitors,:twisted: but could not trust myself so opted for infrared version, which is designed to interface with other similar models(unfortunately I only have one - maybe if they produce an Sherman I might be tempted and then it will get NOISY)
Simon Dawson
(Simon D.),
Narrow gauge Francophile interested in 1m, 60cm,50cm , 40cm and smaller gauges . Build in scales from 1/6th to 1/24th. Also 1/32nd and 1/35th using 16.5mm track to represent 50cm and 60cm gauges.
http://www.rue-d-etropal.com

User avatar
AndyA
Demi-Millegniumer
Demi-Millegniumer
Posts: 887
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 12:24 am
Location: Southampton, England
Interests: Railways, Folk music, food, travel
Andy died 14-Sep-2017 and will post no more. Travel well on your new guage.

Postby AndyA » Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:54 pm

Several people have commented that the sound quality is important. I wonder whether it is possible to combine DCC sound with a synchronised sub-woofer like Otto uses. That really makes a difference.

That said, if there'd been a thrid layout with sound between the two I was comparing at Swanley, it could have got really annoying.

regards
Andy A
Gn15: Gnot so much a scale, more a state of mind
gnine: less is the gnew more
GnTonic - enjoy irresponsibly

User avatar
Prof Klyzlr
GnatterBox Centurion
GnatterBox Centurion
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:10 am
Location: ...Somewhere deep in the Aussie Bush
Interests: Aussie NG Logging Tramway fan

Sync'ing DCC subs

Postby Prof Klyzlr » Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:33 am

Dear Andy A,

Yes, it is "Possible" to mount a DCC decoder under the layout,
patch it's audio outs to a Sub-woofer,
and have it "respond" to the same DCC control commands as the loco "topside".
(Simply add the "Sub woofer" decoder to the "Locomotive consist", as if it was "double heading" with the actual loco).

However, this does not address 2 key issues.

1 - SYNC

If you are using "auto-sync" or "sync to speed step",
AND the sound files/CV config betwen the 2 decoders is Exactly the same,
then they <Should> appear to "chuff" in sync.

If you however are using any form of actual "motor feedback" or "physical cam" chuff sync, the "sub woofer" decoder cannot access these signals, and thus will NOT be in Sync with the loco "chuffs"


2 - Compatibility

What if Loco #1,
which is working fine with the "sub woofer decoder",
(Right sound, CV settings match, sync is behaving, etc etc etc)

has a "hiccup",

and following the old exhibitor's mantra,
you Do NOt Hesitate,
simply swap locos,
and "keep the show going",
(we'll deal with whatever loco #1's issues are later...),

and "Loco #2"'s sound decoder config does NOT match the "sub-woofer decoder"'s config?
(Or worse, the "sub-woofer" is a steam decoder, a
nd you have had to revert to your "fallback" diesel loco?)

Sure, you could have 2 (TWO) decoders mounted under the layout,
(One steam, one diesel),
feeding a 2-into-1 "buffer"/mixer circuit,
and from there into the sub-woofer,
and remember to "add to consist" the appropriate sub-woofer decoder to match the loco currently "onstage",

although in practise, in the heat of exhibition operation battle,
adding these few "extra steps" may make the difference between ENJOYING the weekend at the show,

and tearing you hair out as Again you've run your Lister out on stage, with sub-woofer steam "Chuffs" coming from under the layout...?!?!? :wink:

The extra impact of "sub-woofer sound re-inforcement" would be impressive, esp if it is subtle,
(The average viewer won't be able to tell exactly WHAT you've done,
but they will KNOW that "this layout sounds more impressive/REAL than the other ones"),

BUT if it makes life harder on the operators,
then maybe the benefit isn't worth the mutiny...
(I trust, Respect, and Value my operators,
without them I simply couldn't survive a tough exhibiton...)
Happy Modelling,

Aim to Improve,

Prof Klyzlr

User avatar
rue_d_etropal
Millegniumer
Millegniumer
Posts: 2165
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 4:55 pm
Location: Accrington and sometimes France
Interests: France, any narrow/minmum gauge 40cm,50cm , 60cm

Postby rue_d_etropal » Sun Dec 02, 2007 9:17 pm

had a chap in shop yesterday, who happened to mention Gn15 and sound in the same sentence. Said he had lurked on forum, but would join ASAP. Anyway he wants to put a sound chip in one of your locos Steve, but you had not replied to his request for available space yet. wants to use a sound chipped GN15 loco as part of entry for narrow gauge exhibition contest next year. He is also another Gnortherner, adding to that club.
Simon Dawson
(Simon D.),
Narrow gauge Francophile interested in 1m, 60cm,50cm , 40cm and smaller gauges . Build in scales from 1/6th to 1/24th. Also 1/32nd and 1/35th using 16.5mm track to represent 50cm and 60cm gauges.
http://www.rue-d-etropal.com

User avatar
Steve Bennett
Millegniumer
Millegniumer
Posts: 4512
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 12:55 am
Location: Exeter, UK
Interests: railways?

Postby Steve Bennett » Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:50 am

News to me, I dont recall being asked for the info, but in my overfull mailbox, may have missed it :roll: . Cant even reply here, as I dont know which loco.
Steve Bennett
Sidelines
http://www.pepper7.com


Return to “Modelling Matters”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest